U.S. Nationals offers prestigious stage for 2020 JEGS Allstars competition

August 17, 2020
By nhra.com
For more than 35 years, the JEGS Allstars has assembled the top Sportsman drivers in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series to face off in a battle for individual and team honors. The 2020 JEGS Allstars event will take during the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA U.S. Nationals, adding even more prestige to the event.
17 Aug 2020
JEGS.com, one of the largest high-performance automotive equipment retailers in the United States, once again sets the stage for one of the most intense Sportsman competitions of the year. For more than 35 years, the JEGS Allstars has assembled the top Sportsman drivers in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series to face off in a battle for individual and team honors.

The 2020 JEGS Allstars event will take place on Saturday, Sept. 5, at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis during the NHRA’s biggest annual event, the prestigious Denso Spark Plugs NHRA U.S. Nationals. This race-within-a-race will pit the top points earners from NHRA’s seven geographic divisions and four Top Alcohol regions against each other in the culmination of a yearlong points battle.

Competitors in Top Alcohol Dragster, Top Alcohol Funny Car, Comp, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, Super Street, Top Dragster, and Top Sportsman will compete for a share of the $124,000 purse. Event sponsor JEGS has also offered a double-up bonus to racers who win the JEGS Allstars and Sunday’s U.S. Nationals title in the same category.

The JEGS Allstars Top Alcohol regional team championship was introduced in 2013 with the best Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car drivers from each of the four regions going head to head. In 2019, the Central Region took home the championship. They were joined in victory by the South Central Division team, who scored their eighth win and third straight in the JEGS Allstars team championship competition.

The defending JEGS Allstars winners are Joey Severance (Top Alcohol Dragster), Ray Drew (Top Alcohol Funny Car), Frank Aragona Jr. (Comp), Jeff Dona (Super Stock), Jeff Lopez (Stock), Christopher Dodd (Super Comp), John Labbous Jr. (Super Gas), Cy Hill (Super Street), Darian Boesch (Top Dragster), and Kynon Dinkel (Top Sportsman).

Aragona, who is also the reigning Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Comp champ, will be gunning for his third straight Allstars crown while the Meyer sisters, reigning Top Alcohol Dragster champion Megan and younger sibling Rachel, will again represent the Central Region and their Meyer Racing teammate, Julie Nataas, will be one of the North Central representatives. They will be joined by a fourth female representative, East Region frontrunner Jackie Fricke. Defending Allstars champ Severance is also back in the field and will serve as a blocker for the West Region.

Boesch, last year’s Top Dragster winner, is also seeded back into the field as a blocker for Division 4 but also qualified for the Division 4 Top Sportsman berth. Division 4’s Vernon Rowland also is qualified for two fields, in Super Comp and Super Gas, as is Division 2’s Jeff Strickland, who earned berths in both Stock and Top Dragster.

David Rampy, one of NHRA Sportsman racing’s greats with 100 national event victories, will return from his 2019-ending retirement to compete in the Allstars after remaining qualified for the Division 4 Super Stock berth.


East Region Jackie Fricke East Region D.J. Cox Jr.
East Region Josh Hart East Region Dan Pomponio
North Central Region Will Smith North Central Region Chris Foster
North Central Region Julie Nataas North Central Region Ray Drew
Central Region Megan Meyer Central Region Annie Whiteley
Central Region Rachel Meyer Central Region Kris Hool
West Region Shawn Cowie West Region Brian Hough
West Region Joey Severance West Region Chris Marshall



Division 1 Frank Aragona Jr. Division 1 Steve Comella
Division 2 Jim Kimbrough Division 2 Mike Crutchfield
Division 3 Chad Voges Division 3 Irvin Johns
Division 4 Craig Bourgeois Division 4 David Rampy
Division 5 Matt Harris Division 5 Mike Mans
Division 6 Ryan Warter Division 6 Tom Gaynor
Division 7 Scott McClay Division 7 Kyle Rizzoli
Blocker (Division 1) Lee Zane Blocker (Division 3) Jeff Dona
Division 1 Allison Doll Division 1 Tom Stalba
Division 2 Jeff Strickland Division 2 Rusty Cook
Division 3 James Kaekel Division 3 Paige Coughlin
Division 4 Slate Cummings Division 4 Vernon Rowland
Division 5 Tyler Wudarczyk Division 5 Trevor Larson
Division 6 Jeff Lane Division 6 Brian Preszler
Division 7 Justin Lamb Division 7 Nick Cobb
Blocker (Division 4) Jeff Lopez Blocker (Division 4) Christopher Dodd
Division 1 Charlie Kenopic Division 1 Brian Sawyer
Division 2 Craig Porter Division 2 Kevin MacNicol
Division 3 Jeremy Mason Division 3 Denny Napier
Division 4 Vernon Rowland Division 4 John Leibham
Division 5 Kris Whitfield Division 5 Kristopher Thies
Division 6 George Scott Division 6 Gary Ericksen
Division 7 Mike Boehner Division 7 Dave Gotts
Blocker (Division 2) John Labbous Jr. Blocker (Division 4) Cy Hill
Division 1 Jeff Taylor Division 1 Jeff Brooks
Division 2 Jeff Strickland Division 2 David Tatum III
Division 3 J.B. Strassweg Division 3 Lester Johnson
Division 4 Rusty Baxter Division 4 Darian Boesch
Division 5 Victoria Johnson Division 5 Allen Firestone
Division 6 Paul Nero Division 6 TBA
Division 7 Cody Webber Division 7 Doug Crumlich
Blocker (Division 4) Darian Boesch Blocker (Division 3) Kynon Dinkel